Setmore vs Acuity: Plans, Limits and Cost at 1 to 10 Staff
In short
Setmore costs less for one or two staff on either billing term, and its $0 Free plan keeps it cheaper up to four staff if email reminders are enough. With text reminders on monthly billing, Acuity costs less from three staff: Standard's $34 against Setmore Pro's $36, then Premium's $61 against $84 at seven (read October 5, 2026).
- Billed annually with text reminders, Setmore Pro costs less at one to five and seven to nine staff; Acuity costs less at six and 10.
- Acuity takes payments and deposits on every plan, Starter included; Setmore's grid lists deposits, recurring appointments and two-way calendar sync on Pro.
- Neither company adds a fee to card payments; the processor's rate applies, and Setmore lists Stripe at 2.9% plus $0.30, which may vary by country.
In this article8 sections

Setmore and Acuity Scheduling both give a service business an online booking page, reminders and card payments through a processor you connect. They bill in different units. Setmore charges per user, and every staff calendar counts as a user. Acuity sells three plans, each capped at a number of calendars.
This Acuity Scheduling vs Setmore comparison is built from the vendors' own pages, read on October 5, 2026. We used Setmore's pricing page and payments page, and Acuity's pricing page, payments page and calendar page. Acuity's page states that all prices are in U.S. dollars, before tax; Setmore's page does not say whether tax is included. Setmore's lists $ without a currency code, and we read it from a Canadian connection, so its figures appear exactly as listed. We did not use either product. Twizzlo, which publishes this guide, also sells booking software, so it stays out of the comparison tables and has its own section below.
Two other booking tools had pages in the top five of our search for this comparison on the same day. Amelia is a WordPress plugin sold on annual or lifetime licenses. Calendesk's Standard plan listed $97 a month ($79 billed annually). This guide sticks to the two tools in the question, so neither is compared further.
If Acuity is already your front-runner, our Acuity pricing page lays out its three plans by bookable calendar and shows that text reminders start on Standard. Our Setmore pricing page does the same for Setmore's Free and Pro plans.
Setmore and Acuity side by side
Setmore has a $0 plan for up to four users and bills Pro per user, while Acuity has no free plan. Acuity sells three tiers capped at one, six and 36 calendars, according to the vendors' pages read October 5, 2026.
| Setmore | Acuity Scheduling | |
|---|---|---|
| Plans | Free; Pro | Starter; Standard; Premium; Enterprise (contact sales, no price listed) |
| Billing unit | Per user; each staff calendar counts as a user, even without a login | Per plan, capped by calendars: 1, up to 6, up to 36 |
| Free plan | Yes: Free is $0 for up to 4 users, with unlimited appointments | No |
| Paid price, billed monthly | Pro: $12 per user a month | Starter $20, Standard $34, Premium $61 a month |
| Paid price, billed annually | Pro: $5 per user a month | Starter $16, Standard $27, Premium $49 a month ($192, $324 or $588 a year) |
| Trial or refund | Pro can be tried risk-free for 30 days, with a refund on request | 7-day free trial on any plan, no credit card needed |
| Text reminders start on | Pro, with 500 SMS credits a month per Pro team member; availability varies by country | Standard; Acuity asks you to check global availability |
| Deposits at booking | Pro | Every plan |
| Payment options named | Square, Stripe, PayPal, LawPay | Stripe, Square, PayPal, Venmo |
| Support | 24/7 human support by chat, email and phone on both plans; priority support on Pro | "Award-winning customer service included in every plan", in Acuity's words |
| Paid extras named on the page | Live Receptionist, a separate plan at $99 a month, U.S. only | None; the page says no set-up, cancellation or support fees |
Table 1. Source: Setmore's pricing and payments pages and Acuity's pricing page, read October 5, 2026. Acuity's prices exclude tax; Setmore's page does not say. Acuity states that all prices are in USD; Setmore lists $ with no currency code and was read from a non-U.S. connection, so its prices appear as listed. Plans change, so open both pages again before you buy.
Two pages in our search for this comparison carried details that differ from the vendors' current pages. One gave Setmore Free a cap of 200 appointments a month, and another listed Acuity's plans as Emerging, Growing and Powerhouse. Setmore's own grid lists unlimited appointments on Free and on Pro, and Acuity's current plans are Starter, Standard and Premium.
What do Setmore and Acuity cost at 1 to 10 staff?
With text reminders on monthly billing, Setmore Pro at $12 per user is cheaper at one or two staff, and Acuity Standard at $34 is cheaper from three, on prices read October 5, 2026. Acuity Premium costs $61 for up to 36 calendars.
If email reminders are enough, Setmore Free costs nothing for up to four users. Acuity Starter is $20 a month for one calendar, and Standard is $34 for two to six. From the fifth user, Setmore needs Pro for every user, so a five-person team pays $60 a month on Setmore against $34 on Acuity, or $25 against $27 billed annually.
| Staff calendars | Setmore, email reminders | Acuity, email reminders | Setmore Pro, with texts | Acuity, with texts | Cheaper with texts: monthly; annual |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $0 (Free) | $20 ($16), Starter | $12 ($5) | $34 ($27), Standard | Setmore; Setmore |
| 2 | $0 (Free) | $34 ($27), Standard | $24 ($10) | $34 ($27), Standard | Setmore; Setmore |
| 3 | $0 (Free) | $34 ($27), Standard | $36 ($15) | $34 ($27), Standard | Acuity; Setmore |
| 4 | $0 (Free) | $34 ($27), Standard | $48 ($20) | $34 ($27), Standard | Acuity; Setmore |
| 5 | $60 ($25), Pro | $34 ($27), Standard | $60 ($25) | $34 ($27), Standard | Acuity; Setmore |
| 6 | $72 ($30), Pro | $34 ($27), Standard | $72 ($30) | $34 ($27), Standard | Acuity; Acuity |
| 7 | $84 ($35), Pro | $61 ($49), Premium | $84 ($35) | $61 ($49), Premium | Acuity; Setmore |
| 8 | $96 ($40), Pro | $61 ($49), Premium | $96 ($40) | $61 ($49), Premium | Acuity; Setmore |
| 9 | $108 ($45), Pro | $61 ($49), Premium | $108 ($45) | $61 ($49), Premium | Acuity; Setmore |
| 10 | $120 ($50), Pro | $61 ($49), Premium | $120 ($50) | $61 ($49), Premium | Acuity; Acuity |
Table 2. Price per month for the cheapest plan that covers each staff count, billed monthly, with annual billing per month in parentheses. Setmore counts each staff calendar as a user; Acuity uses one calendar per staff member here. Arithmetic from both pricing pages, read October 5, 2026; Acuity's prices exclude tax.
The monthly crossover sits at the third staff member: three Setmore Pro users at $12 each cost $36, against Acuity Standard's flat $34. Each added user widens the gap until Acuity's seventh calendar forces Premium at $61, still below Setmore's $84 for seven users.
Annual billing cuts the per-user price far more than the tier price: Setmore Pro falls from $12 to $5 per user, while Acuity Standard falls from $34 to $27. Setmore leads through five users, and Acuity leads at six, $27 against $30. Premium's $49 hands the lead back to Setmore at seven to nine, and Acuity leads again at 10 by $1. Over a year, annual billing saves $84 on Acuity Standard and $252 on three Setmore Pro users.
Which features sit on which plan?
Setmore keeps text reminders, deposits, recurring appointments, two-way calendar sync and application programming interface (API) access for Pro, on the plan grids read October 5, 2026. Acuity includes deposits and video meetings on every plan, adds text reminders on Standard and opens API access on Premium.
| Feature | Setmore Free | Setmore Pro | Acuity Starter | Acuity Standard | Acuity Premium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online booking page | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Email reminders | Yes (1 reminder) | Yes (2 reminders) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Text reminders | No | Yes | No | Yes | Yes |
| Online payments | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Deposits at booking | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Recurring appointments | No | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Two-way calendar sync | No | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Video meetings | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Group classes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Client intake forms | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Packages, memberships and gift certificates | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Yes |
| Waitlist | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Yes |
| Remove the vendor's branding | No | Yes | No | No | Yes |
| API access | No | Yes | No | No | Yes |
| Mobile admin app | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Table 3. Yes, No or Not stated, as each vendor's own pricing page shows it on October 5, 2026. Not stated means that page does not say; Acuity's calendar page describes two-way sync without naming a plan.
Setmore
Setmore Free includes unlimited appointments, a team booking page and group classes, on the Setmore pricing page read October 5, 2026. It includes Reserve with Google, contact import and export, and payments through Square, Stripe, PayPal or LawPay. Free sends one email reminder per booking. Pro adds a second reminder and text message (SMS) reminders, with 500 credits a month for each Pro team member. Pro also adds recurring appointments, two-way calendar sync, video appointments, deposits, Google review requests, API access and an unbranded booking page. Setmore suits a team of up to four that is happy with email reminders, or one or two staff who want texts at the lowest monthly price.
Acuity Scheduling
Every Acuity plan includes payments and deposits through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo, on the Acuity pricing page read October 5, 2026. Every plan also has custom client forms, email reminders, Google Meet, Zoom and GoToMeeting links, and automatic time zone conversion for clients. Standard adds text reminders, a waitlist, packages, memberships, subscriptions and gift certificates. Premium adds an AI booking assistant, hides the Acuity logo, sets time zones per staff member or location, and opens a custom API and CSS. Acuity's calendar page describes two-way sync with Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, iCloud Calendar and Office 365. Its payments page says that stored card details or prepayments let you charge cancellation or no-show fees. Acuity suits a business that sells packages or gift certificates, collects client forms before a visit, or runs three to six staff on monthly billing with texts.
Card payments: neither adds a fee of its own
Neither Setmore nor Acuity adds its own charge to card payments, according to their payments pages read October 5, 2026. You pay the rate of the processor you connect.
Setmore's payments page, read the same day, lists Stripe at 2.9% plus $0.30 and Square at 2.9% plus $0.30 online or 2.6% plus $0.15 in person. It lists PayPal at 3.49% plus $0.49 and LawPay at 2.99% plus $0.30, and notes that rates may vary by country. Acuity's payments page lists no rates and says that each processor sets its own. Neither vendor's pages tie the card rate to a plan, so no upgrade is shown to pay for itself through lower card fees.
| Example month | Setmore or Acuity, paid through Stripe |
|---|---|
| Online card payments | 60 payments of $75 = $4,500 |
| Fee per payment at 2.9% plus $0.30 | $2.475 |
| Card fees for the month | $148.50 |
| Added by Setmore or Acuity | $0 |
Table 4. Worked example: the payment count and amount are examples. The rate is Stripe's as Setmore's payments page lists it, read October 5, 2026; check the rate on your own Stripe account, because rates may vary by country.
In this example, the card fees are more than four times Acuity Standard's $34 plan price, and they would be the same on either tool through the same Stripe account. At three staff with text reminders on monthly billing, the plan prices differ by $2 a month, so the processor and the features matter more than the subscription.
Which plan fits which business?
The cheapest plan that fits depends on staff count, billing term and the features you need, such as text reminders, deposits, packages, client forms or an unbranded booking page.
| Reader profile | Cheapest qualifying plan in this guide | Listed price | Read date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to four staff, email reminders are enough | Setmore Free | $0 | October 5, 2026 |
| One staff member who wants text reminders | Setmore Pro | $12 a month ($5 billed annually) | October 5, 2026 |
| One staff member who takes deposits at booking | Setmore Pro | $12 a month ($5 billed annually) | October 5, 2026 |
| Three to six staff, text reminders, monthly billing | Acuity Standard | $34 a month | October 5, 2026 |
| Six staff, text reminders, billed annually | Acuity Standard | $27 a month billed annually ($324 a year) | October 5, 2026 |
| Seven to nine staff, text reminders, billed annually | Setmore Pro | $35 to $45 a month billed annually | October 5, 2026 |
| Up to six staff, sells packages or gift certificates | Acuity Standard | $34 a month ($27 billed annually) | October 5, 2026 |
| One staff member who collects client forms | Acuity Starter | $20 a month ($16 billed annually) | October 5, 2026 |
| Two staff, booking page without vendor branding | Setmore Pro | $24 a month ($10 billed annually) | October 5, 2026 |
Table 5. Each row names the cheapest plan in this guide that meets every need in the profile, checked against Tables 2 and 3. Acuity's prices exclude tax.
If neither tool fits, our guides to Setmore alternatives and Acuity Scheduling alternatives price other booking tools at the same team sizes. For Acuity against two other tools, see Square Appointments vs Acuity and Vagaro vs Acuity Scheduling.
Where Twizzlo fits
Twizzlo is web-based online booking and appointment scheduling software for appointment-based service businesses, and it bills per business rather than per user or calendar.
Free is $0 a month for up to 150 bookings a month, with no SMS, and it is free forever, not a trial. Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with 50 SMS a month included and $0.03 for each one after that. Business Pro comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Both plans include unlimited staff and locations, and online payments carry your Stripe processing rate plus a 1.5% Twizzlo platform fee. Details are on Twizzlo pricing.
A hypothetical solo stylist with six bookings a day for 22 working days books 132 a month, inside Free's 150, so Free covers the bookings, with email reminders. Now take the seven-staff row of Table 2, with a hypothetical four bookings per staff member a day. Seven staff working 22 days make 616 bookings a month, above Free's cap, so this team needs Business Pro.
With one text per booking, 566 of the 616 texts go past the 50 included, at $0.03 each, which adds $16.98. Business Pro then comes to $29.99 plus $16.98, or $46.97 a month. Before the 1.5% Twizzlo platform fee on online payments, that is less than both seven-staff monthly prices in Table 2 and more than the cheapest annual price in that row. With email reminders alone, it stays at $29.99 plus that fee on online payments, whatever the staff count.
Staff calendars, client records, prepaid bookings at the full service price and tips through Stripe are listed on Twizzlo's features page. So is Employee Shifts, for multi-location staff shifts and schedules. The same page does not list packages, gift certificates, intake forms or calendar sync, so a business that needs those can compare them in Table 3 above.
To test Twizzlo with your own team, you can start on the Free plan and move to Business Pro when bookings pass 150 a month or you want text reminders.
Frequently asked questions
Is Setmore or Acuity cheaper for a small team?
It depends on team size and reminders. On prices read October 5, 2026, Setmore Free is $0 for up to four users with email reminders. When you want texts and pay monthly, Setmore Pro's $12 per user is lower for one or two staff, and Acuity Standard's $34 is lower for three to six. Billed annually, Setmore Pro at $5 per user costs less for one to five staff.
Which one includes text reminders on its cheapest plan?
Neither. On the plan grids read October 5, 2026, Setmore Free sends email reminders, and texts need Setmore Pro, which gives every Pro team member 500 SMS credits monthly where SMS is available. Acuity Starter sends email reminders, and texts start on Standard, at $34 a month or $27 billed annually, where Acuity asks you to check global availability.
Can clients pay a deposit when they book with Setmore or Acuity?
Yes, on different plans. Acuity's pricing page, read October 5, 2026, lists payments and deposits through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo on every plan, Starter included. Setmore's plan grid lists deposits on Pro and not on Free, although Free accepts online payments.
Do Setmore and Acuity sync with Google Calendar?
Yes, on Setmore Pro and on Acuity. Setmore's plan grid, read October 5, 2026, lists two-way calendar sync on Pro and not on Free. Acuity says it syncs both ways with Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, iCloud Calendar and Office 365, and its calendar page names no plan for it.
Do Setmore or Acuity charge a fee on card payments?
No. Both vendors' payments pages, read October 5, 2026, say they add nothing to card payments, so the processor's rate applies. Setmore lists Stripe at 2.9% plus $0.30 and notes that rates may vary by country. Acuity names Stripe, Square and PayPal and leaves the rates to each processor.
Which is better for selling packages and gift certificates?
Acuity. Its pricing page, read October 5, 2026, lists packages, memberships, subscriptions and gift certificates from the Standard plan, at $34 a month or $27 billed annually, for up to six calendars. Setmore's pricing page does not list packages or gift certificates on either plan.
Sources and methodology
Prices read
- Setmore pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Free $0 up to 4 users; Pro $12 per user monthly, $5 per user billed annually; plan grid (reminders, SMS credits, deposits, recurring appointments, two-way sync, video, classes, branding, API); Live Receptionist $99; 30-day risk-free Pro; user definition
- Setmore payments page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: processor rates (Square, Stripe, PayPal, LawPay); rates may vary by country; no Setmore transaction charge
- Acuity Scheduling pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Starter $20 or $16, Standard $34 or $27, Premium $61 or $49; calendars 1, 6, 36; USD; 7-day trial; plan features; no set-up, cancellation or support fees; Enterprise
- Acuity Scheduling calendar management page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: two-way sync with Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, iCloud Calendar and Office 365
- Acuity Scheduling payments page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Stripe, Square and PayPal; no Acuity fee on payments; deposits and prepayments; cancellation or no-show fees
- Amelia pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: WordPress plugin; annual and lifetime licenses
- Calendesk pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Standard $97 a month billed monthly, $79 billed annually
- Twizzlo pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Free and Business Pro plans, SMS, guarantee, 1.5% platform fee
- Twizzlo features page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: staff calendars, client records, prepaid bookings, tips, Employee Shifts; screenshot source
From our editorial policy
- Twizzlo sells online booking and appointment scheduling software, the same category we write about. Twizzlo appears in our comparisons and roundups, and we have a commercial interest in you choosing it.
- We do not publish invented quotes, studies, statistics, customer stories or product tests, and we do not imply hands-on use of a product when the research came from the vendor's public documentation.
- To report an error, email support@twizzlo.com with the subject line "Correction: [page URL]". Tell us what is wrong and, if you can, link a source.
Start free, upgrade when you grow
Flat-rate booking software. No per-seat, per-chair or per-location fees.
- Free plan up to 150 bookings a month, not a trial
- Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with a 30-day money-back guarantee
- 24/7 support by email
