Twizzlo appointment scheduling software
Tattoo studios

Square Appointments for Tattoo Artists: What Fits and What Does Not

Roger Grekos, Co-Founder & Editor
By · Co-Founder & Editor
Updated · 14 min read

In short

Square Appointments for tattoo artists works best at a shop that already takes cards on Square and sells fixed-price services. Hourly and quoted pieces fit less well: Square's help center limits full prepayment to fixed-price services and caps the automatic cancellation cut-off at two weeks. No-show fees start on Square Plus, billed per location.

  • Square's full prepayment covers fixed-price services only, so for hourly or quoted tattoo work, test the card hold, a fixed-price item or Square's appointment deposits.
  • Square Plus is $49 and Square Premium $149 a month per location, whatever the artist count, on Square's pricing page read September 25, 2026.
  • Long lead times hit two limits in Square's help center: a two-week maximum cut-off, and refunds more than 60 days after booking handled outside Square.

Source: Square Support: Manage booking cancellations and prepayment policies (opens in a new tab), read

In this article10 sections
Line chart of the monthly card volume at which Square Plus covers its $49 fee on card rates alone at one location, falling from $49,000 when every payment is taken in the shop to $12,250 when every payment is taken online.

Is Square Appointments for tattoo artists a good fit?

Square Appointments suits a tattoo shop that already runs its card payments through Square, books from one address and can sell its bookings as fixed-price services. It fits less well when work is priced by the hour or by quote, when books open months ahead, or when the shop runs several locations.

Square itself sells to the category directly, and its tattoo and piercing page, read September 27, 2026, names walk-ins, touch-ups and custom pieces, describes assigning specific stations and artists to bookings, and points shops with chair leases to chair rental capabilities.

Where it stops being a fit has almost nothing to do with the calendar. The friction shows up in how a tattoo shop takes money before the needle goes in, and in how far ahead a large piece gets booked. Both of those run into rules that Square publishes in its help center rather than on its plan cards.

If money up front for hourly work, or a second address, is what the shop needs, compare Square with dedicated tattoo booking software before moving the calendar.

What does Square Appointments cost a tattoo shop in 2026?

Square Appointments costs a tattoo shop $0, $49 or $149 a month per location on Square Free, Plus and Premium, plus card processing on every payment, according to Square's pricing page, read September 25, 2026.

Staff count never enters the plan fee, which matters for a six-artist shop at one address. A fourth tier, Square Pro, is priced by quote.

Table 1. Square Appointments plans, from Square's pricing page (US), read September 25, 2026
PlanMonthly fee, per locationTap, dip or swipeOnlineWhat Square lists on the plan
Square Free$02.6% + 15¢3.3% + 30¢Online booking site, appointment reminders, unlimited staff calendars
Square Plus$49, 30-day free trial2.5% + 15¢2.9% + 30¢Cancellation policy and no-show fees, multi-staff appointment booking, waitlist
Square Premium$149, 30-day free trial2.4% + 15¢2.9% + 30¢Future bookings report, service cost tracking, resource management
Square ProCustom pricing (yearly processing over $250,000)Not publishedNot publishedCustom processing fees if eligible

Card processing is charged on top and is not flat across the plans: the rates in Table 1 fall or hold as the plan fee rises. Manual entry or a card on file is 3.5% plus 15 cents on Square Free, Plus and Premium, according to the Fees table on the same page, read September 27, 2026. The plan fees, with the per-location arithmetic, sit on the full breakdown of Square Appointments pricing.

Koalendar's roundup of booking apps for tattoo artists, dated July 23, 2026, and read September 27, 2026, lists Square Plus at $35 a month per location and processing at 2.6% plus $0.10. Square's pricing page, read September 25, 2026, lists $49 a month per location and 2.6% plus 15 cents in person on Square Free, so the roundup's price is $14 a month, or 29%, below Square's.

Can Square Appointments take prepayment for tattoo work?

Partly. Square's help center offers “Require full prepayment” only for fixed-price services, so hourly or quoted tattoo work fits it poorly; its other payment option, “Hold card in case of no-show,” takes a card at booking, not money, and the shop can charge it if the client breaks its cancellation policy.

Square's support article on booking cancellations and prepayment policies, read on September 27, 2026, sets out three options for online booking: “No requirement to book,” “Require full prepayment” and “Hold card in case of no-show.” The first is the default. The second and third are the ones a tattoo shop wants.

The catch is in the wording of the second. Require full prepayment, in Square's own description, requires clients to prepay for fixed-price services. Tattoo work is often priced by the hour, by the day, or by a quote for the piece. A four-hour custom back piece is not a fixed-price service. So the option that sounds like it collects the money at booking is the one that fits tattooing least well. One workaround is to sell a separate fixed-price service, such as a deposit or a consultation fee, and require prepayment on that item.

Square help article excerpt: cancellation fees up to 14 days after the appointment, no-show cards held for one appointment, and three online booking options: No requirement to book, Require full prepayment, Hold card in case of no-show.
Square's help article on booking cancellations and prepayment policies, captured September 27, 2026: the notes before setup and the three online booking options. Source: Square Support.

The third option, holding a card, does work for tattooing, and Square documents three fee shapes for it: a flat fee per appointment, a flat fee per service, or a percentage of each service price. Square also states that when no-show protection is enabled the card is held for a single appointment and is not saved on file for later charges, unless the client selects Save Card when booking. For a shop used to keeping a card on file across a multi-session project, that is a real behavioral difference and it is worth knowing before you migrate.

Then there is the plan question, and here Square's pages differ. Its Appointments pricing grid, read September 27, 2026, shows appointment deposits, a partial deposit taken at booking, as included on Square Free, Plus and Premium alike. Its support article for prepayment and cancellation policies lists its audience as Square Appointments Plus and Premium subscribers, and sellers with bookings mode enabled in Square's point-of-sale app. Neither page says whether a deposit works on hourly or quoted services, so test prepayment and deposits in your own dashboard, on the plan you will buy.

How do Square's cancellation windows line up with tattoo booking lead times?

Square covers short notice well but stops short of long tattoo lead times. Three limits in its help article, read September 27, 2026, set the edges: a cancellation cut-off of one hour to two weeks, a cancellation fee up to 14 days after the appointment, and refunds through Square only within 60 days of booking.

Table 2. Square's limits against tattoo lead times (help article, read September 27, 2026)
Square settingLimit Square setsExampleWhat a shop can do
Cancellation cut-offOne hour to two weeks, or none30 days' notice wanted on a full-day sessionPut the 30-day rule in the written policy
Cancellation feeUp to 14 days after the appointmentMissed sessions reviewed at month's endDecide on each fee within 14 days
RefundsOutside Square for cancellations over 60 days after bookingBooked in March for July, canceled in JuneSay in the policy how those refunds are paid
No-show card holdOne appointment; saved on file only if the client selects Save CardA sleeve booked over four sessionsAsk the client to select Save Card

None of this makes Square unusable. It does mean that a shop booking long lead times should write its deposit policy to match what the software can enforce rather than assuming the software will enforce what the policy says. Our guide to setting a no-show charge covers the policy language, which is the part Square does not write for you.

What does Square Appointments not do for a tattoo shop?

None of the Square pages read for this article describes a tattoo consent form inside the booking flow, guardian consent steps for clients under 18, or artist portfolios on the booking page.

Square lists Contracts with reusable templates and e-signature on Square Free, Plus and Premium, and its pricing grid, read September 27, 2026, says contracts can go to clients automatically when they book.

The portfolio gap matters too. Tattoo clients often choose an artist by style. A booking page that lists three artists by name with no work attached puts the client back in the direct messages asking who does color realism, which is the exact loop the booking page was supposed to close.

Text message marketing is not available on Square Free at all, and runs at 3 cents a text on Square Plus after 500 included each month and 1.5 cents on Premium after 2,500, with the allowance counted per account rather than per location, according to the Fees table on Square's pricing page, read September 27, 2026. And Square's tattoo page carries a footnote saying that the automated email and text campaigns it describes require a separate subscription to Square Marketing, while the Appointments pricing grid shows email marketing as a checked feature on Plus and Premium. The conflict is recorded here rather than resolved on Square's behalf.

For the tools that cover the rest of a studio, from paperwork to payroll, see our guide to tattoo shop management software.

When does Square Plus actually pay for itself?

On card rates alone, Square Plus covers its $49 monthly fee at one location once card volume reaches $49,000 a month if every payment is taken in the shop, or $12,250 if every payment is taken online, based on the rates on Square's pricing page, read September 25, 2026.

The arithmetic is simple once the fixed cents are removed. The 15-cent and 30-cent components are identical on Free and Plus, so they cancel. The gap that remains is 0.10 percentage points in person and 0.40 points online. Blend those by how you take money and divide $49 by the result.

Line chart of the monthly card volume at which Square Plus covers its $49 fee on card rates alone, falling as the share of payments taken online rises; Table 3 lists the values.
Figure 1. Square Plus break-even on card rates alone, one location, by share taken online. Source: Square Appointments pricing page, read September 25, 2026. Table 3 lists the same numbers.

At a labeled 70/30 split, 70% taken in the shop and 30% online as deposits, Square Plus starts paying for itself on card rates alone at about $25,800 of monthly card volume at one location, per Table 3. A deposit-heavy shop running closer to 50/50 hits it at $19,600.

Table 3. Square Plus break-even on card rates alone, one location (rates read September 25, 2026)
Share taken onlineBlended rate gap, Square Free vs Square PlusMonthly card volume needed
0% (all in the shop)0.10 points$49,000
30% (a 70/30 split)0.19 points$25,789
50% (a 50/50 split)0.25 points$19,600
100% (all online)0.40 points$12,250

The rate gap is not the only test. The no-show fee, which Square does not list on Free at all, starts on Plus, and every no-show fee collected in a month counts toward the $49, less the processing fee Square charges on it.

Square Premium is a harder sell at a single shop. The online rate does not fall from Plus to Premium: both are 2.9% plus 30 cents, according to Square's pricing page. Online volume returns nothing at all, and the in-person gap of 0.10 points means $100,000 of monthly card volume before the extra $100 is covered. Premium has to earn its place on the Future bookings report, Resource management and Service cost tracking instead.

How do the eight tattoo workflow steps compare?

On Square's own pages, Square Free and Square Plus handle online booking and a calendar for every artist the same way. They separate on no-show fees, which start on Plus; on money taken at booking, Square's pricing page and help article differ.

Where Square documents nothing either way, the cell says “Not stated,” and where Square's own pages disagree the cell says that too.

Matrix of eight tattoo booking steps comparing what Square Free and Square Plus document on Square's own pages, marking each step as documented, differing between Square's pages, not on Square Free, or not stated.
Figure 2. Sources: Square's pricing page, help article and tattoo and piercing page, read September 27, 2026.
Table 4. The Figure 2 cells as text
Tattoo booking stepSquare Free ($0)Square Plus ($49)
1. Consult or session booked onlineYes: online booking siteYes: online booking site
2. Money taken at bookingSquare's pages differ (see the prepayment section)Yes: full prepayment for fixed-price services
3. No-show fee after a missed appointmentNot on Square FreeYes: cancellation policy and no-show fees
4. Long and variable session lengths, with buffersNot statedNot stated
5. A calendar for every artistYes: unlimited staff calendarsYes: unlimited staff calendars
6. Consent form inside the booking flowGeneral contracts sent at booking; no tattoo form describedGeneral contracts sent at booking; no tattoo form described
7. Multi-session piece tracked as one projectInvoicing project workspace; no booking series describedPackages of prepaid services; invoicing project workspace
8. Walk-in and flash-day queueWalk-ins named on the tattoo page; no walk-in queue describedWalk-ins named on the tattoo page; waitlist, but no walk-in queue described

The consult and the calendar are not where a decision gets made. One row, long session lengths with buffers, reads “Not stated” for both plans.

When should a tattoo shop stay on Square, and when should it switch?

Stay on Square Free if the shop has one address, already takes cards on Square and does not need to charge for missed appointments. Look elsewhere when per-location fees multiply across addresses, or when hourly and quoted work needs money taken at booking.

Square is the better fit if the shop is one address, already has Square hardware at the front desk, sells aftercare or other retail, and wants payroll from the same vendor. At a single location Square Free costs nothing in plan fees, Square Payroll starts at $35 a month plus $6 per person paid, and hardware options start at $59, according to Square's pricing page, read September 25, 2026. Add a card reader and a retail shelf and the case gets stronger, not weaker.

Look elsewhere when the arithmetic stops being about one shop. The $49 and $149 fees are charged again for every location, Square's pricing page says, so a second address doubles the software bill before a single card is swiped. Three shops on Square Plus pay $147 a month.

Also look elsewhere if a tattoo consent form inside the booking flow is what you need, because none of the Square pages read describes one. That is a job for a tattoo-specific product, and the guide to the best tattoo booking software covers the ones built for it. The wider tattoo studio scheduling software comparison covers how each vendor bills as a studio adds artists or locations.

If you are weighing Square against the other general schedulers rather than against a tattoo product, Booksy vs Square and Square Appointments vs Acuity cover the same ground with different opponents.

Where Twizzlo fits

Twizzlo is web-based online booking and appointment scheduling software for appointment-based service businesses, with a public booking page, email and SMS reminders, client records, staff schedules and shifts, and Stripe payments and tips. For a tattoo shop, that means a calendar per artist, custom booking rules and buffer times, and prepaid bookings, where the client pays the full service price at booking. No-show fees are supported and applied at the business's discretion.

Free is $0 a month for up to 150 bookings, with no SMS. Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings and 50 SMS a month, then $0.03 per extra SMS, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Both plans include unlimited staff and locations. Online payments carry your Stripe processing rate plus a 1.5% Twizzlo platform fee. See payment processing fees and eligibility, or see how both plans work for a studio on our tattoo appointment scheduling software page.

Twizzlo payment confirmation screen for a booking paid online: payment successful, with the service, staff member, date, amount paid, tip, total and card used.
A Twizzlo payment confirmation for a sample hair-service booking, the same screen shown on the Twizzlo features page.

Frequently asked questions

Is Square Appointments free for tattoo artists?

Square Free is $0 a month per location with no subscription fee, according to Square's pricing page, read September 25, 2026, and Square describes it as being for solo professionals taking payments and managing schedules. For a solo artist it is a real free plan rather than a trial. Cancellation policy and no-show fees are not on Square Free; they start on Square Plus at $49 a month per location on the same page. Text message marketing is not on Square Free either, according to the Fees table on the same page, read September 27, 2026. You still pay card processing on every payment, at 2.6% plus 15 cents in person and 3.3% plus 30 cents online on Square Free, according to the pricing page read September 25, 2026.

Can Square Appointments collect a tattoo deposit at booking?

It can, but the route matters. Square's help article on cancellation and prepayment policies, read September 27, 2026, documents two options that involve payment: require full prepayment, which its own wording limits to fixed-price services, and hold card in case of no-show, which the article does not limit to fixed-price services. Because tattoo work priced by the hour or by quote is not a fixed-price service, one workaround is a separate fixed-price deposit service that clients book and prepay. Square's pricing page, read the same day, lists appointment deposits on Square Free, Plus and Premium, while the help article names Plus and Premium subscribers as its audience, so test prepayment on the plan you will buy.

How much notice can I require before a tattoo cancellation?

Square's help article on cancellation and prepayment policies, read September 27, 2026, lets you set a cancellation cut-off anywhere from one hour up to two weeks, or none. Two weeks is the ceiling, so a shop that wants 30 days' notice on a full-day session cannot enforce that automatically and has to state it in its written policy. The same article says a cancellation fee can be charged up to 14 days after the appointment, and that refunds for cancellations more than 60 days after the booking date must be issued outside Square.

Does Square Appointments handle tattoo consent forms?

Not in a tattoo-specific way. Square's pricing page, read September 27, 2026, lists contracts with reusable templates and e-signature on Square Free, Plus and Premium, and contracts sent automatically when clients book, which covers a general agreement. None of the Square pages read for this article describes a tattoo consent form inside the booking flow or guardian consent steps for clients under 18. Keep the consent step as a separate form process, reviewed for your location.

Is Square Appointments cheaper than a flat-rate booking tool for a tattoo shop?

At one location, Square Free, $0 a month on Square's pricing page read September 25, 2026, is cheaper than any paid subscription if the shop does not need no-show fees, which start on Square Plus at $49 a month per location on the same page. Twizzlo Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business, according to Twizzlo's pricing page, read September 27, 2026. Square's fee repeats for each location, so the difference grows with every extra address. Card processing is separate on both: Square publishes its rates on its pricing page, and on Twizzlo, online payments carry your Stripe processing rate plus a 1.5% Twizzlo platform fee.

Does Square Appointments charge per artist?

No. The Square Appointments plan fee is charged per location and staff count never enters it, so a six-artist shop at one address pays the same $49 a month on Square Plus as a two-artist shop, according to Square's pricing page, read September 25, 2026. The page's feature grid, read September 27, 2026, lists unlimited staff calendars on Square Free, Plus and Premium. Costs multiply on addresses rather than on chairs, which suits a busy shop at one address.

Can Square Appointments manage walk-ins and flash days?

Square's tattoo and piercing page, read September 27, 2026, names walk-ins in its calendar copy, and Square's pricing page, read the same day, lists a waitlist on Square Plus and Premium that clients can join through the booking site, with notifications when an appointment opens up. None of the Square pages read for this article documents a walk-in queue with a check-in flow and artist assignment, the setup a flash day calls for. If flash days are the core of your week, test that flow during the 30-day free trial that Square's pricing page, read September 25, 2026, lists for Square Plus.

Sources and methodology

Prices read

  1. Square Appointments pricing page (US) (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: plan fees and card rates (unchanged since our read of September 25, 2026), plan features, feature grid, Fees table, trial, Payroll and hardware
  2. Square Support: Manage booking cancellations and prepayment policies (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: the three online booking options, the fixed-price rule, fee options, the card hold, cut-off, 14-day and 60-day limits; page capture
  3. Square tattoo and piercing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: walk-ins, touch-ups and custom pieces; stations and artists; chair rental capabilities (FAQ); the Square Marketing footnote
  4. Koalendar: 7 best booking software for tattoo artists and studios (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: the Square Plus price and processing rate it prints (corrected on this page)
  5. Twizzlo pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Twizzlo plans, SMS allowance, money-back guarantee and online payment fee
  6. Twizzlo features page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: calendar per staff member, booking rules, buffer times, prepaid bookings, no-show fees; payment confirmation screenshot (same image)

From our editorial policy

  • Twizzlo sells online booking and appointment scheduling software, the same category we write about. Twizzlo appears in our comparisons and roundups, and we have a commercial interest in you choosing it.
  • We do not publish invented quotes, studies, statistics, customer stories or product tests, and we do not imply hands-on use of a product when the research came from the vendor's public documentation.
  • To report an error, email support@twizzlo.com with the subject line "Correction: [page URL]". Tell us what is wrong and, if you can, link a source.
Read our editorial policy
Update history
  1. : Re-read Square's pricing page and help center, corrected the break-even figure and the workflow matrix, and added an answer box, four tables and a section on where Twizzlo fits.

Start free, upgrade when you grow

Flat-rate booking software. No per-seat, per-chair or per-location fees.

  • Free plan up to 150 bookings a month, not a trial
  • Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with a 30-day money-back guarantee
  • 24/7 support by email