How to Start a Hair Salon: Steps, State License Fees and Startup Costs
In short
To start a hair salon, choose the salon model, form the business, sign a lease, then license that address with your state board before you open. On state pages read October 23, 2026, the first salon license fee is $50 in California (an application fee), $60 in New York, $78 in Texas, $85 in Ohio and $142 in Pennsylvania.
- Pennsylvania will not let a salon open until it passes inspection, and a move or new owner means a new application.
- On state fee pages read October 23, 2026, Pennsylvania's salon fees total $286 through the first renewal, against California's $90.
- LendingTree and ZenBusiness put hair salon startup costs between $10,000 and over $500,000; the state license is a small line.
In this article9 sections

Learning how to start a hair salon is mostly learning what has to happen in which order. Stylists who have rented a chair for years already know the craft. What is new is the business side: a lease, a state salon license tied to that address, an inspection in some states, and cash for the months before the books fill.
Our method: on October 23, 2026, we read the salon licensing pages of six U.S. state boards. We also read the guides that ranked for this search that day, from LendingTree, ZenBusiness, Small Business Trends, Natulique, Salon Today, StartCosts and Zenoti. Those guides agree on the steps but rarely give a state's actual fee, so the fees below come from the boards' own pages. This is a planning guide, not legal advice. Twizzlo, the publisher, sells booking software; its product is described only in the final section before the FAQ.
When the opening date is set, our salon scheduling software page covers the booking side of opening a salon.
How to start a hair salon in six steps
Starting a hair salon takes six steps in order: pick a model and budget, form the business, sign a lease, license that address, pass any inspection, then hire licensed stylists and open bookings.
- Pick the model and budget. Decide whether stylists will be employees, booth renters or suite renters, and price the build-out before you look at spaces. Our salon business plan template turns those choices into a plan a lender can read.
- Form the business, register it with your state and get an Employer Identification Number (EIN). It costs nothing: the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) EIN page, read October 23, 2026, offers it online for free.
- Sign the lease after checking that local zoning allows a salon and which city permits the space needs.
- Apply for the salon license at that address with your state board (Table 1 lists five states' fees).
- Pass the inspection where your state requires one before opening, as Pennsylvania does.
- Hire licensed stylists, publish the service menu and open online bookings before the first day.
Steps four and five tie the salon license to one address, which is why the lease comes before them; the lease section below gives each state's rule.
Which salon model should you open: employees, booth renters or suites?
Open an employee salon to control the schedule and service standards, a booth rental salon to collect rent from independent stylists, or a salon suite to start alone in a ready-built room.
In an employee salon, you set the hours, the menu and the prices. You pay wages or commission. In a booth rental salon, each stylist rents a chair, keeps their own clients and sets their own prices, so your income is the rent. Many stylists already work for themselves: the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) handbook page, read October 23, 2026, counts 48% of hairdressers, hairstylists and cosmetologists as self-employed. Some stylists you interview may prefer a booth rental deal to a wage. A salon suite is the smallest start: one licensed stylist in a private room inside a larger building.
State rules follow the model. In Texas, a salon that rents space to renters with their own small licenses is called a gallery establishment. Each renter's mini-establishment license costs $70 on the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) page, read October 23, 2026. In Illinois, the owner registers the whole salon, or each renter holds a registration of their own. That rule is on a state sheet from the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR). Write the terms of each chair rental into a booth rental contract before a renter moves in.
What does a hair salon license cost in five states?
On state pages read October 23, 2026, the first salon license fee is $50 in California (an application fee), $60 in New York, $78 in Texas, $85 in Ohio and $142 in Pennsylvania.
| State and agency | First salon license | Renewal | Renewal period as listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| California, Board of Barbering and Cosmetology | $50 application fee | $40 ($20 delinquent fee) | Two years |
| Texas, Department of Licensing and Regulation | $78 establishment ($70 mini-establishment) | $78 ($70) | Two years |
| New York, Department of State | $60 appearance enhancement business license | $60 | Not stated on the page read |
| Pennsylvania, State Board of Cosmetology | $142 cosmetology salon | $144 | Biennial |
| Ohio, Cosmetology and Barber Board | $85 salon (all types) | $75 | Not stated on the page read |
Table 1. State salon license fees, from each agency's own page and, for Pennsylvania, 49 Pa. Code 7.2 (fees effective July 1, 2024), read October 23, 2026. Each fee applies in its own state only.
The fees come from California's application form and renewal page, the Texas renewal page, New York's business license page, the Pennsylvania fee rule and Ohio's fee list, all read October 23, 2026. Ohio's list also shows a $75 fee for an independent contractor license.
Two large states are missing from the table. Illinois requires every salon or shop to be registered, and registrations end on November 30 of each even-numbered year. The IDFPR sheet read October 23, 2026, does not list the fee. Florida's licensing pages, run by its Department of Business and Professional Regulation, could not be read for this guide on October 23, 2026, so ask that department for the Florida salon fee.
These are the salon's own licenses. California and Pennsylvania also license each stylist: to renew a cosmetologist license, California lists $50 every two years and Pennsylvania lists $97, both read October 23, 2026.
Why does the lease come before the salon license?
The lease comes first because the salon license is tied to one street address: California's application asks for the salon's physical address, and Pennsylvania inspects the salon there before it may open.
California's form asks for the street address of the salon. Pennsylvania's salon licensure page, read October 23, 2026, says a salon cannot open or operate before it passes inspection. In Pennsylvania, a move to a new address or a change of ownership means a new salon application and inspection. Its fee rule lists $91 for a reinspection, so a failed first visit costs money as well as time.
Texas gives you one year from the day TDLR gets your application to meet every rule, or the application is void. TDLR also posts a guide to what its inspectors check. New York asks for proof of liability insurance when you apply (Table 2).
That order shapes the budget. Weeks of rent can pass between signing and opening while the build-out, the license and any inspection catch up. Ask the landlord about a rent-free fit-out period before you sign.
How much does it cost to open a hair salon?
Published guides read October 23, 2026, put the total from $10,000 to more than $500,000, depending on the city, the size of the space and the salon model.
LendingTree's guide gives $10,000 to $200,000 or more, ZenBusiness gives $60,000 to over $500,000, and StartCosts puts a New York salon at $45,500 to $195,000. The wide spread comes from the build-out: a suite needs little construction, while a new salon may need plumbing for shampoo bowls and electrical work for dryers. Against those totals, the state license is one of the smallest lines.
| Cost line | What to get in writing before you sign | Where the number comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Lease and security deposit | Monthly rent, deposit, rent-free fit-out period, use clause naming a salon | Landlord's lease offer |
| Build-out | Plumbing for shampoo bowls, electrical for dryers, ventilation, finishes | Contractor quotes |
| Equipment | Styling chairs, shampoo bowls and chairs, dryers, stations, mirrors | Supplier quotes |
| Salon license and inspections | First fee, renewal fee, any reinspection fee | Your state board (Table 1) |
| Insurance | Liability cover at the limits your state or landlord requires; New York asks for at least $25,000 per occurrence and $75,000 in the aggregate | Insurer quotes; New York Department of State |
| Stylist pay | Hourly wage, commission or booth rent terms | BLS median: $17.25 an hour (May 2025) |
| Booking and payments | Monthly software price and card-processing rate | Vendor pricing pages |
Table 2. Startup cost lines to price before signing a lease. The hourly figure is the BLS median for barbers, hairstylists and cosmetologists, May 2025, read October 23, 2026.
Price the service menu before you lock in rent, because the menu decides how many clients a chair must see each month. Our hair salon price list shows how published salon menus are set out.
How do you bring in the first clients?
Bring in the first clients by publishing the service menu and a booking link before opening day. Then tell people where to find you through a Google Business Profile, social media posts and the stylists' own regulars.
Clients who follow a stylist from another chair will want to book online. From the first week, the booking page should show each stylist's open times, prices and service lengths. Send marketing texts and emails only to clients who opted in to receive them. After each visit, invite every client to leave a review, not only the happy ones, and offer nothing in return for it.
If you are still choosing the booking tool, our best salon booking software guide and our booking software comparisons set out the options and their prices.
Where Twizzlo fits
Twizzlo is web-based online booking and appointment scheduling software for appointment-based service businesses; for a new hair salon, it covers the service menu, the stylists' calendars and the booking link.
Each service gets a price, a duration and buffer time, and each stylist gets a calendar. Employee Shifts covers multi-location staff shifts and schedules. Stylists are bookable staff, and someone who runs the front desk can be added as non-bookable staff to manage the book. The booking page takes appointments day and night against real-time availability, and walk-in bookings are supported. For long color work, a prepaid booking takes the full service price through Stripe at booking, and clients can add tips at checkout. Client profiles keep notes, preferences and allergies.
Free is $0 a month for up to 150 bookings a month, free forever and not a trial, with no SMS (text messages). Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with 50 SMS a month included, then $0.03 each, and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Both plans include unlimited staff and locations. Online payments carry your Stripe processing rate plus a 1.5% Twizzlo platform fee. Details are on the Twizzlo pricing page.
Take a hypothetical opening month with two stylists at 15 bookings a week each. That is 30 bookings a week, or about 130 a month (30 times 52 weeks, divided by 12), within Free's 150. With four stylists at 25 a week, the salon books about 433 a month and belongs on Business Pro. One text reminder per booking uses the 50 included texts plus 383 more at $0.03, or $11.49, for $41.48 a month. If clients prepay $5,000 of those bookings online, the platform fee is $75 before Stripe's rate.
Twizzlo's /features/ page does not list booth-rent billing, so a salon that collects rent from booth renters keeps that in its accounting software.
To try it, start on the Free plan, add the service menu and the stylists, and switch to Business Pro once the salon passes 150 bookings a month or wants text reminders.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to start a hair salon?
Published guides read October 23, 2026, range from $10,000 to more than $500,000, with the build-out behind most of that spread. The state salon license is small by comparison: a $50 application fee in California and $142 in Pennsylvania for the first license, on state pages read the same day.
Do I need a salon license and a cosmetology license?
Usually both. California, for example, licenses the salon as an establishment and each stylist as a cosmetologist, with renewal fees of $40 and $50 on a board page read October 23, 2026.
Can a hair salon open before its inspection?
Not in Pennsylvania. Its State Board of Cosmetology, on a page read October 23, 2026, bars a new salon from opening until the inspection is passed. Other states set their own rules, so ask your state board before you book an opening date.
How long is a salon license good for?
It depends on the state. On pages read October 23, 2026, California and Texas list two-year periods, Pennsylvania renews salon licenses every two years, and Illinois registrations expire November 30 of each even-numbered year.
Can I open a salon that rents chairs to stylists?
Yes, and some states license that setup in its own way. Texas calls it a gallery establishment, with $70 mini-establishment licenses for renters, and Illinois lets the owner register the whole facility or each renter register separately, on pages read October 23, 2026.
Sources and methodology
Prices read
- California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, establishment application (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: California $50 establishment application fee, physical address on the application (Table 1, Figure 2)
- California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, license renewals (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: California establishment renewal $40, delinquent $20, cosmetologist $50, two-year period (Table 1, Figure 2)
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, apply for an establishment license (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Texas $78 establishment and $70 mini-establishment fees, two-year validity, one-year application rule, gallery establishment (Table 1, Figure 2)
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, renew an establishment license (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Texas $78 and $70 renewal fees (Table 1, Figure 2)
- New York Department of State, become an appearance enhancement business (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: New York $60 initial and $60 renewal fees, liability insurance minimums (Table 1, Figure 2)
- Pennsylvania Code, 49 Pa. Code 7.2 fees (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Pennsylvania $142 salon license, $144 biennial renewal, $91 reinspection (Table 1, Figure 2)
- Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology, salon licensure procedure (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Pennsylvania inspection before opening, relocation and change of ownership rules
- Pennsylvania State Board of Cosmetology, renewal information (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Pennsylvania cosmetologist renewal $97 and salon renewal $144
- Ohio Cosmetology and Barber Board, fees (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Ohio $85 new salon license, $75 renewal, $75 independent contractor license (Table 1, Figure 2)
- Illinois IDFPR, salon and shop qualifications for licensure (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Illinois salon and shop registration, renters, November 30 even-year expiry
- IRS, get an Employer Identification Number (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: EIN issued online for free
- BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, barbers, hairstylists and cosmetologists (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Median pay $17.25 an hour (May 2025), 48% of hairdressers self-employed (Table 2)
- Twizzlo pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Free and Business Pro plans, SMS, guarantee, 1.5% platform fee
- Twizzlo features page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Service menu, staff calendars, Employee Shifts, booking page, prepaid bookings, tips, client profiles; screenshot source
From our editorial policy
- We do not publish invented quotes, studies, statistics, customer stories or product tests, and we do not imply hands-on use of a product when the research came from the vendor's public documentation.
- To report an error, email support@twizzlo.com with the subject line "Correction: [page URL]". Tell us what is wrong and, if you can, link a source.
Start free, upgrade when you grow
Flat-rate booking software. No per-seat, per-chair or per-location fees.
- Free plan up to 150 bookings a month, not a trial
- Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with a 30-day money-back guarantee
- 24/7 support by email
