StyleSeat vs Vagaro: What a Stylist Pays Each Month, Solo or With a Team
In short
StyleSeat vs Vagaro turns on volume and team size. On pages read October 24, 2026, StyleSeat lists $19 a month for new pros (its help center lists $35); Vagaro lists $23.99, a limited-time rate, plus $10 per added calendar. At a hypothetical $60 service, Vagaro costs less from 36 card appointments a month, before its network fees.
- Taking cards by phone instead of a reader moves Vagaro's break-even with StyleSeat's new-pro rate to 63 appointments a month.
- StyleSeat's optional New Client Connection takes 30% of a new client's first service, capped at $50; a Vagaro Marketplace listing carries no new-client fee.
- StyleSeat lists deposits and no-show protection in its plan; on Vagaro, deposits and cancellation fees on online bookings need the paid Online Shopping Cart add-on.
In this article11 sections

StyleSeat and Vagaro both sell online booking to hair stylists, barbers and beauty pros, but they charge in different places. StyleSeat keeps one subscription for the whole account and takes a fee when its marketplace sends you a new client. Vagaro charges a base subscription, adds a fee for each extra bookable calendar and sells several tools as monthly add-ons.
Our method: on October 24, 2026, we read StyleSeat's pricing page and its help center cost article, and Vagaro's U.S. help center pricing article and its Fill My Books help article. Vagaro's own pricing page sent this connection to its Canadian edition, so every Vagaro figure here comes from the U.S. help center. We also read the pages that ranked for this search that day, from StyleSeat, Vagaro, Beauty Playbook (a Vagaro partner page), SoftwareSuggest, Pabau and Acuity Scheduling. Pabau sells clinic software and Acuity Scheduling is a general scheduler, so neither is priced here. Nothing was tested hands-on. Twizzlo, which publishes this guide, stays out of the comparison tables and charts and has its own section before the FAQ.
If Vagaro is on your shortlist, our Vagaro pricing page breaks down what Vagaro charges per calendar and for each paid add-on.
What do StyleSeat and Vagaro cost each month?
On pages read October 24, 2026, StyleSeat lists $19 a month for new pros as a limited-time rate, or $35 on its help center. Vagaro lists $23.99 a month, a limited-time rate, for one calendar.
| Cost line | StyleSeat | Vagaro |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription | $19 a month after the free trial, a limited-time rate for new pros ($199 a year); help center: Premium Plan, $35 a month | $23.99 a month, a limited-time rate, with one calendar; no list price printed |
| Staff | Staff calendars at no extra seat cost, for up to 15 chairs | $10 a month per added calendar for up to seven licenses, then no charge for new employees |
| Card payments in person | 2.5% + $0.30 (Tap to Pay); new pros: free during the trial, then 1.9% for six months | 2.6% + $0.10 under $4,000 a month in card sales (Tap to Phone: 2.6% + $0.16); 2.29% + $0.19 above it, with a $10 monthly Large Merchant fee; FANF and Mastercard location fees apply, amounts not printed |
| Card not present | 2.6% + $0.30 | Keyed in: 3.5% + $0.19 |
| New-client fee | New Client Connection, optional: 30% of the first service, $50 maximum | None for a Marketplace listing; Fill My Books, optional: 20% of a new customer's first booking, 5% for a returning one when it fills gaps |
| Fee paid by clients | $2.35 per booking | Not stated |
| Free trial | 21 days (StyleSeat's Vagaro comparison page) | Offered; length not stated on the U.S. help center |
Table 1. StyleSeat and Vagaro charges, from StyleSeat's pricing page, help center and Vagaro comparison page and from Vagaro's U.S. help center, read October 24, 2026. Prices as printed, monthly billing, before tax.
The two plan prices are close, so the difference sits in what each one charges around the plan. On its pages read October 24, 2026, StyleSeat lists two subscription figures and does not say whether $35 applies once the $19 offer ends. Its pricing page FAQ says pros who join while the offer runs keep the $19 rate. Vagaro's U.S. help center marks its base price "Only for a limited time" and shows no list price beside it.
What does StyleSeat charge on top of the plan?
On top of the plan, StyleSeat's help center, read October 24, 2026, lists card processing at 2.5% plus 30 cents with the card present and 2.6% plus 30 cents without it. It also lists optional fees for new clients and peak-time pricing.
New pros on the current offer pay no card fees during the free trial and then 1.9% for six months, according to the StyleSeat pricing page read October 24, 2026. That page shows no fixed per-payment fee for the 1.9% period, while StyleSeat's own comparison page, read the same day, shows 1.9% plus 30 cents.
Two growth features cost extra when used. New Client Connection takes 30% of the service cost of a new client's first appointment, with a $50 maximum, on the StyleSeat help center read October 24, 2026. Smart Pricing takes 5.5% of the service cost, with a $16.50 maximum. A pro can switch off either one. Clients also pay StyleSeat a $2.35 booking fee when they book.
The help center, read the same day, lists custom websites as a $10 a month add-on, while the pricing page lists a custom website inside the plan, so check which one your account shows. StyleSeat suits a solo stylist or a small salon that wants marketplace discovery and one subscription for up to 15 chairs.
What does Vagaro charge on top of the plan?
On top of the base plan, Vagaro's U.S. help center, read October 24, 2026, lists $10 a month for each added calendar up to seven licenses. Card processing starts at 2.6% plus 10 cents in person, and each premium feature has its own monthly price.
The Vagaro U.S. help center, read October 24, 2026, lists small-merchant rates below $4,000 a month in card sales. A swipe, dip or tap on a reader costs 2.6% plus 10 cents, and a keyed-in payment 3.5% plus 19 cents. Tap to Phone costs 2.6% plus 16 cents. Above $4,000 a month, the rate is 2.29% plus 19 cents, with a $10 monthly Large Merchant fee. The page adds that a monthly Fixed Acquirer Network Fee (FANF) and Mastercard location fees apply, without amounts.
Several tools a stylist may want are paid add-ons on that page, read the same day. The Online Shopping Cart, at $10 a month, sets up deposits and cancellation fees for online bookings. Forms costs $10 a month, and MySite, a business website, costs $20 a month. A Vagaro Marketplace listing is free in the United States.
Vagaro's paid promotion tool, Fill My Books, takes 20% when a new customer books for the first time, on its Fill My Books help article read October 24, 2026. The fee drops to 5% for a returning customer when the tool fills gaps in your schedule, and the deals it promotes carry a discount you set. Vagaro suits a stylist or salon that wants a free marketplace listing with no new-client fee and will pay for add-ons as it needs them.
Which costs less for one stylist at 20, 60 and 120 appointments?
At a hypothetical $60 average service paid by card in person, StyleSeat's $19 rate costs less up to 35 appointments a month and Vagaro costs less from 36, on rates read October 24, 2026. Vagaro's unpriced network fees are not included.
| Appointments a month | StyleSeat at the $19 rate | StyleSeat at the $35 plan | Vagaro |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20 | $55.00 | $71.00 | $57.19 |
| 60 | $127.00 | $143.00 | $123.59 |
| 120 | $235.00 | $251.00 | $221.67 |
Table 2. Hypothetical monthly cost for one stylist: subscription plus in-person card fees at a $60 average service, every appointment paid by card on a reader. StyleSeat at 2.5% plus 30 cents a payment ($1.80); Vagaro at 2.6% plus 10 cents ($1.66) under $4,000 a month in card sales, and at 2.29% plus 19 cents ($1.564) plus its $10 Large Merchant fee at 120 appointments ($7,200), before FANF and Mastercard location fees. Rates read October 24, 2026; tips and new-client fees not included.
At that price, each StyleSeat payment costs $1.80 and each Vagaro payment $1.66, so Vagaro saves 14 cents a payment against a subscription $4.99 higher. The lines meet at about 35.6 payments, which makes 36 the first whole month where Vagaro comes out lower: $83.75 against $83.80. Against StyleSeat's $35 plan, Vagaro costs less at every volume, because both its plan and its per-payment cost are lower.
Network fees, phone payments and card volume each move that point. Vagaro's network fees are not priced on its help center, so the true crossing sits somewhat above 36. A stylist who takes cards on a phone pays Vagaro $1.72 a payment at its Tap to Phone rate, which moves the crossing to 63 appointments. Above $4,000 a month in card sales, from 67 appointments here, Vagaro's large-merchant rate lowers its 120-appointment month to $221.67.
During StyleSeat's 1.9% introductory period, StyleSeat's card cost per payment is lower than any Vagaro rate above.
What happens to the subscription as you add stylists?
StyleSeat's subscription stays the same for up to 15 chairs, while Vagaro's rises $10 a month per added calendar, on pages read October 24, 2026. Vagaro reaches $43.99 for three calendars, $63.99 for five and $83.99 for seven or more.
| Bookable calendars | Vagaro | StyleSeat at the $19 rate | StyleSeat at the $35 plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $23.99 | $19.00 | $35.00 |
| 2 | $33.99 | $19.00 | $35.00 |
| 3 | $43.99 | $19.00 | $35.00 |
| 5 | $63.99 | $19.00 | $35.00 |
| 7 | $83.99 | $19.00 | $35.00 |
| 10 | $83.99 | $19.00 | $35.00 |
Table 3. Monthly subscription by bookable calendars, monthly billing, before card fees. Vagaro: $23.99 base, a limited-time rate, plus $10 per added calendar up to seven licenses. StyleSeat: one price for up to 15 chairs. Read October 24, 2026.
At seven calendars, Vagaro's subscription is $64.99 a month above StyleSeat's $19 rate and $48.99 above its $35 plan. Two limits apply: StyleSeat's flat price covers up to 15 chairs, and Vagaro stops charging for new calendars once seven licenses are paid. Card fees still grow with each stylist's appointments: three stylists at 60 card appointments each would pay about $343.00 a month on StyleSeat's $19 rate and $335.51 on Vagaro's large-merchant rate, before network fees.
How do the new-client fees compare?
StyleSeat charges 30% of a new marketplace client's first service, capped at $50, while a Vagaro Marketplace listing charges nothing per new client, on pages read October 24, 2026. Vagaro's optional Fill My Books takes 20%.
| First service price | StyleSeat New Client Connection | Vagaro Marketplace listing | Vagaro Fill My Books, new customer |
|---|---|---|---|
| $60 | $18.00 | $0 | $12.00 |
| $100 | $30.00 | $0 | $20.00 |
| $200 | $50.00 (the cap) | $0 | $40.00 |
Table 4. Fee per new client who books through each vendor's marketplace, by the price of the first service. Both fees are optional. StyleSeat's applies to the first appointment; Fill My Books takes 5% instead for a returning customer when it fills gaps. Read October 24, 2026.
StyleSeat's cap is reached at a first service of about $166.67, since 30% of that is $50. Four new marketplace clients a month at $60 each would cost $72.00 in New Client Connection fees. On Vagaro, the same four clients cost nothing through the free listing and $48.00 if Fill My Books brought them in.
Which fee matters depends on where your clients come from. A stylist whose book fills from referrals and social media pays neither fee, so the plan and card rates above decide the cost.
Which features come in the plan and which cost extra?
StyleSeat's pricing page lists deposits, no-show protection and a custom website inside its plan, while Vagaro sells deposits, cancellation fees and its MySite website as monthly add-ons, on pages read October 24, 2026.
| Feature | StyleSeat | Vagaro |
|---|---|---|
| Deposits and no-show or cancellation fees on online bookings | Yes, in the plan | Yes, with the Online Shopping Cart add-on, $10 a month |
| Staff calendars | Yes, no extra seat cost up to 15 chairs | Yes, $10 a month each up to seven licenses |
| Custom website | Yes, in the plan on the pricing page; the help center lists a $10 a month add-on | Yes, MySite add-on, $20 a month |
| Marketplace listing | Yes, with the optional New Client Connection fee | Yes, free listing |
| Custom client forms | Yes, consultation forms in the plan | Yes, Forms add-on, $10 a month |
| Email marketing | Yes, in the plan | Yes, 1,000 email credits free; larger plans paid |
| Payroll | No, not yet offered (StyleSeat's Vagaro comparison page) | Yes, Vagaro Payroll add-on, $34 a month plus $5 a month per employee |
Table 5. Features each vendor's own pages list, read October 24, 2026. A Yes means the page lists the feature, not that we tested it.
Retail stock and membership billing, which Vagaro's pages also cover, are left out of this guide because it prices what a stylist pays to take bookings and payments.
Which plan fits which business?
On prices read October 24, 2026, a quiet solo stylist with clients from referrals pays least on StyleSeat's $19 rate, and a busy one pays least on Vagaro. A stylist who wants marketplace clients pays less per new client on Vagaro.
| Reader profile | Cheapest qualifying plan in this article | Listed price | Read date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo stylist, under 36 card appointments a month, clients from referrals | StyleSeat at the new-pro rate | $19 a month ($199 a year), a limited-time rate; help center: $35 | October 24, 2026 |
| Solo stylist, 36 or more card appointments a month, clients from referrals | Vagaro base, before its unpriced network fees | $23.99 a month, a limited-time rate | October 24, 2026 |
| Solo stylist who wants marketplace clients | Vagaro base with the free Marketplace listing (no new-client fee) | $23.99 a month, a limited-time rate | October 24, 2026 |
| Salon with three to 15 stylists, lowest subscription | StyleSeat at the new-pro rate (card fees can reverse this at high volume) | $19 a month for up to 15 chairs, a limited-time rate; help center: $35 | October 24, 2026 |
| Team that wants payroll inside the booking tool | Vagaro base plus Vagaro Payroll | $23.99 (a limited-time rate) plus $34 a month, plus $5 per employee | October 24, 2026 |
| Salon above 15 chairs | Vagaro at seven or more calendars | $83.99 a month | October 24, 2026 |
Table 6. Which plan fits which business, from the prices in Tables 1 to 5.
If neither fits, our StyleSeat alternatives guide prices the main other options, and our Booksy vs StyleSeat and GlossGenius vs Vagaro comparisons cover the next closest pairs. Every vendor we track is on our booking software comparisons page.
Where Twizzlo fits
Twizzlo is web-based online booking and appointment scheduling software for appointment-based service businesses; for a stylist weighing StyleSeat and Vagaro, it is a third way to take bookings and payments.
Clients book from a 24/7 online booking page against real-time availability. A prepaid booking takes the full service price through Stripe at booking, and clients can add tips at checkout. No-show fees are a setting the business controls. Email confirmations and reminders go out on both plans, and SMS (text message) reminders come with Business Pro.
Free is $0 a month for up to 150 bookings a month, free forever and not a trial, with no SMS. Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with 50 SMS a month included, then $0.03 each, and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Both plans include unlimited staff and locations. Online payments carry your Stripe processing rate plus a 1.5% Twizzlo platform fee. Details are on the Twizzlo pricing page.
Using this article's numbers, a solo stylist at 60 or 120 appointments a month stays under Free's 150 bookings. One text reminder per appointment needs Business Pro. At 60 appointments, that is the 50 included texts plus 10 at $0.03, or $30.29 a month. At 120, it is 70 extra texts, or $2.10, for $32.09. If those 60 clients each prepay a $60 service online, the platform fee is $54.00 on $3,600, before Stripe's rate.
Twizzlo's /features/ page does not list a consumer marketplace, so a stylist who relies on marketplace discovery for new clients may still want StyleSeat or Vagaro for that. For more on running a salon's book, see our salon scheduling software page and our best scheduling app for hair stylists guide.
To try it, start on the Free plan and move to Business Pro once you pass 150 bookings a month or want text reminders.
Frequently asked questions
StyleSeat vs Vagaro: which is cheaper?
On subscription, StyleSeat's limited-time $19 new-pro rate is lower than Vagaro's $23.99 limited-time rate, but its help center's $35 Premium Plan is higher, on pages read October 24, 2026. Card fees close the gap. At a hypothetical $60 service, Vagaro costs less from 36 card appointments a month, before its unpriced network fees.
Does Vagaro charge a fee for new clients?
Not through its free Vagaro Marketplace listing, on Vagaro's help center read October 24, 2026. The optional Fill My Books tool charges a fee only on bookings it brings in: 20% of a first-time customer's booking, or 5% for a returning customer when it fills gaps.
What percentage does StyleSeat take from new clients?
Up to 30%, and never more than $50 per new client, on StyleSeat's help center read October 24, 2026. The fee is New Client Connection, which is optional and applies to a marketplace client's first visit. Clients also pay StyleSeat a $2.35 booking fee.
Does Vagaro charge per stylist?
Yes, per bookable calendar. Vagaro's U.S. help center, read October 24, 2026, includes one calendar in the $23.99 limited-time base rate and charges $10 a month for each added calendar up to seven licenses. After that, new employees cost nothing extra.
How much is StyleSeat a month?
StyleSeat lists two figures, both read October 24, 2026. Its pricing page shows a limited-time $19 monthly rate for new pros, or $199 billed yearly, covering up to 15 chairs, and its help center lists the Premium Plan at $35 a month.
Sources and methodology
Prices read
- StyleSeat pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: $19 limited-time new-pro rate, $199 a year, up to 15 chairs, staff calendars at no extra seat cost, 1.9% for six months, plan features (Tables 1, 3, 5 and 6, Figures 1 and 2)
- StyleSeat help center, How much does StyleSeat cost? (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Premium Plan $35, card rates 2.5% + $0.30 and 2.6% + $0.30, New Client Connection 30% ($50 max), Smart Pricing 5.5% ($16.50 max), website add-on $10, client booking fee $2.35 (Tables 1, 2, 3 and 4, Figures 1 and 2)
- StyleSeat, Vagaro vs StyleSeat comparison page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: 21-day free trial, 1.9% + 30 cents introductory card rate (Table 1)
- Vagaro help center, Plans, Pricing, and Premium Features (U.S.) (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: $23.99 limited-time base, $10 per added calendar up to seven licenses, card rates, FANF and Mastercard fees, add-on prices, free Marketplace listing (Tables 1 to 6, Figures 1 and 2)
- Vagaro help center, Fill My Books (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Fill My Books fee: 20% for a new customer's first booking, 5% for a returning customer (Tables 1 and 4)
- Twizzlo pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Free and Business Pro plans, SMS, guarantee, 1.5% platform fee
- Twizzlo features page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Booking page, prepaid bookings, tips, no-show fees, reminders; screenshot source
From our editorial policy
- Twizzlo sells online booking and appointment scheduling software, the same category we write about. Twizzlo appears in our comparisons and roundups, and we have a commercial interest in you choosing it.
- We do not publish invented quotes, studies, statistics, customer stories or product tests, and we do not imply hands-on use of a product when the research came from the vendor's public documentation.
- To report an error, email support@twizzlo.com with the subject line "Correction: [page URL]". Tell us what is wrong and, if you can, link a source.
Start free, upgrade when you grow
Flat-rate booking software. No per-seat, per-chair or per-location fees.
- Free plan up to 150 bookings a month, not a trial
- Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with a 30-day money-back guarantee
- 24/7 support by email
