Twizzlo appointment scheduling software
Barbershops

SQUIRE vs Booksy: What Each Costs a Three-Chair and a Six-Chair Barbershop

Roger Grekos, Co-Founder & Editor
By · Co-Founder & Editor
· 12 min read

In short

In Squire vs Booksy, SQUIRE's subscription costs less once a shop has three or more barbers. SQUIRE PRO is a flat $50 a month per shop. Booksy is $29.99 a month plus $20 for each extra team member: $69.99 at three barbers and $129.99 at six, before tax (read October 13, 2026). Booksy lists lower card rates.

  • Booksy's Boost fee is 30% of a marketplace client's first-visit base price, add-ons excluded, with a $10 floor that cuts of $33.33 or less pay.
  • SQUIRE's plan table lists $1 to $3 client-side booking fees on its four main plans; Booksy says it never charges clients to book.
  • Collecting booth rent through the app needs SQUIRE Executive, at $150 a month per shop, which also adds commission reporting.
In this article9 sections
Squire vs Booksy line chart: Booksy rises $20 per barber, SQUIRE PRO stays $50, so SQUIRE is cheaper from three barbers

This SQUIRE vs Booksy comparison is for barbershop owners choosing between the two apps. It prices both for a three-chair and a six-chair shop and adds what each charges on card payments and new clients.

We read SQUIRE's and Booksy's own pricing, payments and help pages on October 13, 2026, from a U.S. connection, and ran no trial of either app. Prices are shown as each page lists them, before tax. Each vendor also publishes a comparison page that argues its own case; we quote those pages only where they add a fact, and say so.

Twizzlo publishes this guide and sells barbershop booking software, which shows a barbershop owner per-barber calendars, walk-ins on the same calendar and a cost table for a four-barber shop. Twizzlo stays out of the comparison tables below and has its own section near the end.

SQUIRE vs Booksy at a glance

SQUIRE sells four barbershop plans priced per shop, while Booksy sells one subscription with every feature and adds a fee for each team member after the first. Table 1 sets out the price, fee and feature rows that differ most, read October 13, 2026.

Item SQUIRE Booksy
Monthly price Independent $30 (one barber); PRO $50; Executive $150 per shop; Titan $250 per shop $29.99 plus tax, with every feature
Extra barbers No per-barber charge, per its pricing FAQ $20 a month for each extra team member, plus tax
Card rates 2.5% plus $0.20 card-present; 2.9% plus $0.30 online 2.49% plus $0.10 card reader; 2.49% plus $0.20 Tap to Pay; 2.69% plus $0.30 mobile or keyed
Fee on new marketplace clients Not stated on its pricing page Optional Boost: 30% of a new client's first-visit base service price, add-ons and tips excluded, $10 minimum, $100 maximum
Fees charged to clients Plan table lists $1 to $3 client-side booking fees None; Booksy says it never charges clients to book
Appointment reminders Unlimited email and text reminders on every plan Confirmations and reminders always free
Free trial 14 days on Independent; demos for the other plans 14 days, no credit card

Table 1. From SQUIRE's pricing and payments pages and Booksy's pricing page and help center, read October 13, 2026. Prices are listed before tax, as each page shows them.

The two apps split on how the bill grows. SQUIRE's price moves when a shop changes plan, while Booksy's moves with every barber added. The sections below put numbers on both.

How much do SQUIRE and Booksy cost for a three-chair and a six-chair shop?

A three-chair shop pays $50 a month on SQUIRE PRO or $69.99 on Booksy, and a six-chair shop pays $50 or $129.99, before tax, on prices read October 13, 2026.

SQUIRE's pricing page, read October 13, 2026, lists Independent at $30 a month for individual barbers and PRO at $50 for single-location shops. Executive is $150 a month per shop and Titan $250 per shop. Its FAQ says every plan is "one monthly fee per shop, no per-barber charges." PRO is the first plan with multiple barber accounts.

Booksy's pricing page lists $29.99 a month plus tax and extra users at $20 a month each, read October 13, 2026.

Squire vs Booksy line chart: Booksy rises $20 per barber, SQUIRE PRO stays $50, so SQUIRE is cheaper from three barbers
Figure 1. SQUIRE PRO costs less than Booksy from three barbers on: $50 against $69.99 at three and $129.99 at six. Booksy's line adds $20 for each barber after the first, SQUIRE's line shows Independent at one barber and PRO from two, and the dashed line marks SQUIRE Executive at $150 a month per shop. Listed subscription prices before tax, from each vendor's pricing page, read October 13, 2026; the same figures are in Table 2.
Barbers at one location SQUIRE (cheapest plan for that size) SQUIRE Executive Booksy, before tax
One $30 (Independent) Not applicable $29.99
Two $50 (PRO) $150 $49.99
Three $50 (PRO) $150 $69.99
Six $50 (PRO) $150 $129.99
Per chair at three $16.67 $50.00 $23.33
Per chair at six $8.33 $25.00 $21.67

Table 2. Monthly subscription by shop size, from each vendor's pricing page, read October 13, 2026. Booksy: $29.99 plus $20 for each team member after the first, plus tax. SQUIRE prices per shop; Executive is shown from two barbers, where SQUIRE's multi-barber plans start.

At one or two barbers the two cost within a cent of each other before tax. At three barbers, SQUIRE PRO is cheaper by $19.99 a month, and at six barbers by $79.99 a month, or $959.88 a year.

The comparison changes when a shop needs an Executive feature such as booth rent collection. At $150 a month per shop, Executive costs more than Booksy at every size up to seven barbers, where Booksy reaches $149.99.

What do SQUIRE and Booksy charge on card payments?

Booksy lists 2.49% plus $0.10 on its card reader and 2.69% plus $0.30 for mobile or keyed payments, while SQUIRE lists 2.5% plus $0.20 card-present and 2.9% plus $0.30 online, read October 13, 2026. On $12,000 a month, Booksy's rates cost less in both cases.

SQUIRE's rates appear in the description of its payments page and of its point-of-sale (POS) and payments page, which says they are visible in every transaction report. SQUIRE says its processing runs on Stripe. Booksy's rates are on its pricing page, with Tap to Pay at 2.49% plus $0.20.

Payment type Listed rate Fees on $12,000 (300 payments of $40)
Booksy Card Reader 2.49% plus $0.10 $328.80
Booksy Tap to Pay 2.49% plus $0.20 $358.80
SQUIRE card-present 2.5% plus $0.20 $360.00
Booksy mobile payments or keyed entry 2.69% plus $0.30 $412.80
SQUIRE online (card-not-present) 2.9% plus $0.30 $438.00

Table 3. Listed rates from SQUIRE's payments pages and Booksy's pricing page, read October 13, 2026. The month of 300 payments of $40 is a hypothetical example; fees = $12,000 times the percentage, plus 300 times the fixed fee.

Bar chart: on $12,000 of card payments, Booksy Card Reader fees are $328.80 and SQUIRE online fees $438.00
Figure 2. On $12,000 of card payments in a month, fees run from $328.80 on Booksy's card reader to $438.00 on SQUIRE online payments. The example month of 300 payments of $40 is hypothetical; each bar applies the vendor's listed rate, read October 13, 2026, and the same figures are in Table 3.

In this example month, SQUIRE costs $31.20 more than Booksy's card reader for payments in the shop and $25.20 more for online payments. Against Booksy's Tap to Pay, SQUIRE's card-present rate costs $1.20 more. Booksy has one plan, and SQUIRE's payments page describes flat-rate processing with no tiered pricing, so moving up a plan does not lower these fees.

Payout speed adds a small cost. On its pricing page, read October 13, 2026, Booksy pays out the next business day for free and charges 1.5% for payouts within 30 minutes. That is $15 on a $1,000 payout. SQUIRE pays out the next business day and charges what it calls "a small per-transfer fee" for Rapid Transfer within 30 minutes, without a figure on the page.

Hardware is priced on one side. Booksy's pricing page, read the same day, lists the Stripe Reader S710 at $299 and the Stripe Reader M2 at $53.10, plus shipping. SQUIRE offers phone tap-to-pay, a Stripe card reader or a full front-desk setup, and the pages we read show no hardware price.

What does each app charge for new clients and bookings?

Booksy's optional Boost fee is 30% of a new marketplace client's first-visit base service price, add-ons excluded, within $10 to $100, and SQUIRE lists $1 to $3 client-side booking fees, read October 13, 2026.

Booksy Boost

Booksy's help center sets a $10 minimum on free services or where 30% of the price is under $10, and a $100 maximum for a client's first visit, read October 13, 2026. A separate article says the fee is calculated from the base price of a service, with add-ons excluded. Booksy's Boost pricing article says the tip is always the barber's. Booksy's pricing page words the base more broadly, as the total cost of the first visit.

A $40 cut costs $12 in Boost fees, and any service priced at $33.33 or less pays the $10 minimum. Ten Boost clients on $40 cuts in a month add $120. Booksy's pricing FAQ says it charges no commission on clients who find the shop online or through the shop's own marketing, or on its marketplace while Boost is off. The help center adds that the fee applies to visits that took place, so a no-show marked the same day is not charged.

SQUIRE's comparison page, last updated May 2026, refers to a Booksy "2026 Platform Fee" pass-through that it says state law blocks in seven states. Booksy's pricing page and FAQ, read October 13, 2026, list no platform fee and say Booksy will never charge clients to book.

SQUIRE booking fees

SQUIRE's plan comparison table lists "$1-3 Client-side booking fees" on Independent, PRO, Executive and Titan, read October 13, 2026. The pricing page does not say which bookings carry the fee or who sets the amount, so ask SQUIRE before you switch.

Which features sit on which plan?

Booksy includes every feature in its one subscription, while SQUIRE spreads features across four plans, so a shop's feature list decides its SQUIRE plan. Table 4 lists the features that differ, from each vendor's pages read October 13, 2026.

Feature SQUIRE plan that lists it Booksy
Multiple barber accounts PRO and up Yes, at $20 a month per extra team member
Text and email marketing Engage on Independent, Executive and Titan; the plan table does not mark it on PRO Yes, with 2,000 free marketing texts a month
Waitlist PRO and up Yes
Commission tracking or reporting Executive and Titan (commission reporting) Yes (Commissions)
Booth rent collection Executive and Titan (Rent Collect) Not stated; its features page describes Shared Locations for renters on their own accounts
Gift cards Titan (digital gift cards) Yes
Client app in the shop's own brand Flex branded app on Independent; branded app on Titan Not stated
Deposits or no-show fees No-show protection on every plan Yes (deposits and cancellation fees)

Table 4. SQUIRE's pricing page and plan comparison table; Booksy's pricing and features pages; all read October 13, 2026. 'Not stated' means the pages we read do not list it.

Two SQUIRE add-ons carry their own price on its pricing page. Branded landing pages cost $25 a month, listed under Executive. Operator, powered by SQUIRE AI, costs $99 a month. Booksy's pricing FAQ says there are no higher plan tiers and no monthly feature add-on fees.

For no-shows, Booksy's features page describes deposits, and cancellation fees charged with a card on file. SQUIRE's POS page says a no-show fee can be applied automatically using the card on file from the original booking. Our barber no-show policy template gives wording to post with either setup.

Which plan fits which business?

SQUIRE PRO is the cheaper fit for a single-location shop with three or more barbers, and Booksy fits a solo barber who wants marketplace exposure. Table 5 names the cheapest plan in this guide for each profile, on prices read October 13, 2026.

Reader profile Cheapest qualifying plan in this guide Listed price Read date
Solo barber who wants a marketplace listing and marketing texts in the price Booksy $29.99 a month plus tax October 13, 2026
Solo barber who wants a client app in their own brand SQUIRE Independent (Flex branded app) $30 a month October 13, 2026
Two barbers, one location Booksy, or SQUIRE PRO (a cent apart before tax) $49.99 a month plus tax, or $50 October 13, 2026
Three or more barbers at one location, booking and reminders SQUIRE PRO $50 a month per shop October 13, 2026
Shop that collects booth rent through the app SQUIRE Executive $150 a month per shop October 13, 2026
Multi-location brand that wants its own branded app SQUIRE Titan $250 a month per shop October 13, 2026

Table 5. Each row names the cheapest plan in this guide that meets every need in the profile, checked against Tables 1, 2 and 4. Booksy's prices exclude tax. Re-check both pricing pages before you buy, because prices can change.

Choose Booksy if you work alone or with one other barber and want new clients from its marketplace, accepting the Boost fee on each one it sends. Choose SQUIRE if you run a single-location shop with three or more barbers and want one price however many chairs you fill, after checking its client booking fee.

For other barbershop apps priced at the same shop sizes, see our guide to the best booking app for barbers. For Booksy against two other tools, read Booksy vs Square and Booksy vs StyleSeat.

Where Twizzlo fits

Twizzlo is web-based online booking and appointment scheduling software for appointment-based service businesses, priced per business rather than per barber.

Free is $0 a month for up to 150 bookings, with email reminders and no SMS (text messages), and it is free forever, not a trial. Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with 50 SMS a month included and $0.03 for each one after that. It comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Both plans include unlimited staff and locations.

A hypothetical solo barber with 30 appointments a week books about 130 a month (30 times 52, divided by 12), inside Free's 150. A three-chair shop at the same pace books about 390 a month, so it needs Business Pro. With one text reminder per booking, 340 texts at $0.03 add $10.20, for $40.19 a month.

A six-chair shop at that pace books about 780 a month. Its 730 extra texts add $21.90, for $51.89 a month. Online payments carry your Stripe processing rate plus a 1.5% Twizzlo platform fee, so $4,000 of prepaid bookings adds $60 in platform fees.

Twizzlo's features page lists per-staff calendars, walk-in bookings, prepaid bookings at the full service price, tips through Stripe and multi-location staff shifts and schedules. The same page does not list commission tracking or booth rent collection, so a shop that splits commission through its booking app should check those rows in Table 4.

Twizzlo staff management dashboard showing multi-location employee shift scheduling across a weekly calendar
Figure 3. Twizzlo's Employee Shifts screen sets each staff member's weekly hours at a chosen location, shown here with the page's own sample data. Real product screenshot reused from twizzlo.com/features/ on October 13, 2026.

Plan details are on Twizzlo pricing, and our Booksy pricing page sets Booksy's plan beside Twizzlo's line by line. To set up your shop's services and barbers, start on the Free plan and move to Business Pro when bookings pass 150 a month or you want text reminders.

Frequently asked questions

Is SQUIRE cheaper than Booksy?

On subscription price, from three barbers, yes. On prices read October 13, 2026, SQUIRE PRO is $50 a month per shop and Booksy is $69.99 at three barbers and $129.99 at six, before tax. At one or two barbers the two are within a cent.

Booksy vs SQUIRE: which has lower card fees?

Booksy, on the rates each lists as of October 13, 2026. Its card reader rate is 2.49% plus $0.10 against SQUIRE's 2.5% plus $0.20 card-present, and its mobile rate is 2.69% plus $0.30 against SQUIRE's 2.9% plus $0.30 online.

Does SQUIRE charge per barber?

No. SQUIRE's pricing FAQ, read October 13, 2026, says every plan is one monthly fee per shop with no per-barber charges. PRO, at $50 a month, is its first plan with multiple barber accounts.

How much is Booksy Boost?

Boost is free to turn on and charges 30% of a new marketplace client's first visit, calculated on the base service price with add-ons excluded. The fee has a $10 minimum and a $100 maximum, per Booksy's pages read October 13, 2026.

Do clients pay a fee to book on SQUIRE or Booksy?

Booksy says it never charges clients to book. SQUIRE's plan comparison table, read October 13, 2026, lists $1 to $3 client-side booking fees on its four main plans without saying which bookings carry them, so ask SQUIRE.

Sources and methodology

Prices read

  1. SQUIRE pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Independent $30/mo, PRO $50/mo, Executive $150/mo per shop, Titan $250/mo per shop; FAQ: flat fee per shop, no per-barber charges; plan table: $1-3 client-side booking fees, Engage, waitlist, commission reporting, Rent Collect, digital gift cards, branded app; add-ons $25 and $99 (Tables 1, 2, 4, 5; Figure 1)
  2. SQUIRE payments page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Page description: 2.5% + $0.20 card-present, 2.9% + $0.30 online; next-business-day payouts; Rapid Transfer small per-transfer fee; Stripe (Table 3, Figure 2)
  3. SQUIRE POS and payments page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Processing rates visible in every transaction report; phone, Stripe reader or full POS setup; no-show fee with card on file (Table 3)
  4. SQUIRE vs Booksy comparison page (SQUIRE) (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: SQUIRE's statement about a Booksy 2026 platform fee pass-through
  5. Booksy pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: $29.99 per month + tax; extra users $20/month each; card rates; Boost 30%, maximum $100; fast payouts 1.5%; card readers; 2,000 free marketing SMS; never charges clients to book (Tables 1 to 5; Figures 1 and 2)
  6. Booksy help center: How does Boost pricing work? (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Boost $10 minimum, $100 maximum, charged only for visits that took place
  7. Booksy help center: Are add-ons included in Boost commissions? (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Boost calculated from the base price; add-ons excluded
  8. Booksy features page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Commissions, Shared Locations, gift cards, waitlist, deposits and cancellation fees (Table 4)
  9. Twizzlo pricing page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Free and Business Pro plans, SMS, guarantee, 1.5% platform fee
  10. Twizzlo features page (opens in a new tab)Read . Supports: Per-staff calendars, walk-ins, prepaid bookings, tips, Employee Shifts; screenshot source

From our editorial policy

  • Twizzlo sells online booking and appointment scheduling software, the same category we write about. Twizzlo appears in our comparisons and roundups, and we have a commercial interest in you choosing it.
  • We do not publish invented quotes, studies, statistics, customer stories or product tests, and we do not imply hands-on use of a product when the research came from the vendor's public documentation.
  • To report an error, email support@twizzlo.com with the subject line "Correction: [page URL]". Tell us what is wrong and, if you can, link a source.
Read our editorial policy

Start free, upgrade when you grow

Flat-rate booking software. No per-seat, per-chair or per-location fees.

  • Free plan up to 150 bookings a month, not a trial
  • Business Pro is $29.99 a month per business for unlimited bookings, with a 30-day money-back guarantee
  • 24/7 support by email